Search This Blog

Sunday, November 6, 2011


The volcanic Pocdol Mountains (also known as Bacon-Manito complex) are a group of volcanic cones between Saragon Bay and Albay Gulf in southern Luzon.

The Pocdol Mountains form part of the boundary between the provinces of Albay and Sorsogon, in Region V, on the island of Luzon, in the Philippines.

The Pocdol Mountains are a volcanic group of stratovolcanos in the Philippines.The Pocdol Mountains have a triangular footprint of about 225 square kilometres (87 sq mi). The highest point is reported as 1102 metres (3,615 ft) above sea level. A fumarole field that contains sulfataras and chloride hot springs, is reported to be located near the summit of the volcanic group.

The group is described by the Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Program as fumarolic.


There are no reports of eruptions.

Several Pleistocene K-Ar dates have been obtained from the volcanic complex. Most igneous rocks in the Pocdol Mountains consist of pyroxene andesites with minor amounts of dacite and basalts. The area is traversed by the San Vicente-Linao Fault, a splay of the Philippine Fault.
Volcanic cones in the western part of the complex are dissected, but those in the eastern part are morphologically youthful.

The volcanic area is the host of various geothermal systems collectively called the Bacon-Manito geothermal field.


The Global Volcanism Program lists the Pocdol Mountains as Fumarolic.


No comments:

Post a Comment