Search This Blog

Friday, February 21, 2014


Cagua, one of the active volcanoes in the Philippines, is located in the province of Cagayan. Specifically, it lies in the Cagayan Valley region, of northern Luzon island. Located in the northernmost part of the Sierra Madre mountain range, it lies in a region of active volcanism which probably originates from a fault between Babuyanes and Luzon. Though there is a more evident seismic record between northeast Luzon and the islands, volcanoes occur on the northwestern side of the island. Evidence of a correlation between the two islands includes agglomerates from multiple volcanoes and pebbles of andesitic lava throughout the region. -

Photo from: 
This volcano is 3,717 feet high with a distinct summit crater. An explosive eruption was recorded in 1860. Signs of activity were observed in 1907 but no eruptions took place and the volcano has been quiet since.  -

Photo from: 

Cagua volcano is located in northern Luzon, Philippines. It is considered part of the Babuya segment because it falls within the N-S trend of the active volcanoes and is east of the trend of the Northern Luzon extinct volcanic centers.
Mt. Cagua is a calcalkaline basaltic and andesitic stratovolcano, which has been built up by at least three eruptive phases:
1) An effusive phase between 1.5 and 1.2 Million years ago.
2) Emission of thick andesitic pyroclastic flows at approximately 670,000 years ago.
3) Young ash flow deposits, deposits, some of which were phreatomagmatic in origin.


Watch the Video:

No comments:

Post a Comment